Tom Jones Gnostic thoughts LP


Download the album now (MP3)

Track List


  1. What Good Am I?
  2. Lord Help
  3. Did Trouble Me
  4. Strange Things
  5. Burning Hell
  6. If I Give My Soul
  7. Don't Knock
  8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  9. Didn't It Rain
  10. Ain't No Grave
  11. Run On
The Real Tom Jones finally shows

Fascinating is the latest album of the rowdy  energetic sex bomb 
singer Tom Jones. Spent most of his life on stage with  hordes of  hysterical women hurling their knickers onto his stage performances. His image has always been one of  a carnal party animal and not much else.

But his new album Praise and Blame seems a radical departure just reading the track titles and listening to his short video promo statement.

Jones says THIS album is the Real ME.  Implying his previous works have been a showbiz  persona that he now says is quite false.

So we are introduced to a new Tom Jones who is unexpectedly thoughtful and  serious about life and existence and afterlife and the price of behaviours.
Implying regrets and concerns for  his conduct.

He uses religious metaphors in negro spirituals that suggest he has been gnostically contacted, prompted, had thoughts just ghosted, misted into his mindseye  thus he thinks it's his own thoughts accrueing and growing a new maturity in him. Semi gnostics are often quite unaware and never stop to question the origin of  their thoughts.
Just look at the track list---- its a gnostic growth process. A journey from nowhere to somewhere. 

  1. What Good Am I?   (I feel like nothing, achieved nothing)
  2. Lord Help                (Lost, Help, look who he is  addressing)
  3. Did Trouble Me       (Some regrets being faced)
  4. Strange Things         (Picking up on impossible coincidences ?)
  5. Burning Hell             (Visions of where he might end up- it might be true)
  6. If I Give My Soul     (That's a very serious deal- the ultimate wedding)
  7. Don't Knock             ( that's a big ask- not sure I can deliver my soul ) 
  8. Nobody's Fault But Mine ( I'm a badass and I'll take what I deserve)
  9. Didn't It Rain            ( Overwhelmed I was by  pseudo success?)


Original  promo video was jerky
so here it is re-presented
Tom emphasises he wants us to think about these matters